MINUTES ASC Meeting ECM 118

Trento, Italy March 29, 2014

The ASC meeting was opened at 9.00 pm by Frank Richter. The attendance was circulated. 12 out of the 22 ASC members were attending, together with 13 observers (see list below). There were no suggestions to change the agenda. The minutes of ASC meeting in Versailles during ECM-116 have been approved.

M. W. Welch Scholarship:

F. Richter gave a short overview of the history of the scholarship since 1965:

- established in 1965,
- 1 year support for young scientist to stay in a lab abroad,
- 1st scholar awarded in 1968,
- since then > 40 award winners in > 40 years,
- 12 k\$ donation from the Welch family obtained every year,
- prize money 15 k\$ = 12 k\$ + 3 k\$ from the "Welch account" of IUVSTA,
- "Welch account" exhausted in $2012/13 \rightarrow 12 \text{ k}$ remaining, which is not enough,
- Suggestion of the Welch trustees: 24 k\$ to be awarded every 2nd year. This idea was supported by the ASC during its meeting in Versailles.
- However: 2013 Mrs. Bro passed away, 12 k\$ payment stopped,
- On the other hand, a substantial endowment (300 k\$?) was anticipated.
- Welch Scholarship suspended for 2013.

The status just before this meeting was as follows:

- Remaining money amounts to only 3,800 \$
- No positive decision of the Welch family yet.
- Therefore the scholarship was suspended also for 2014.

David Rusic reported on a recent exchange of e-mails with the lawyers of the Welch family. The current status is that a decision of the family cannot be expected in 2014. Nevertheless, there is still some hope that the endowment will finally be realised.

In the following lively discussion several aspects have been considered. Most important outcomes were:

- If a positive decision of the Welch family has not been made until early 2015, the scholarship shall be suspended also for 2015.
- In case of a definite negative decision, IUVSTA will consider to continue the scholarship from other financial resources. Possibilities for this will be discussed in due course.

World Transfer Programme:

The ASC unanimously agreed to ask the STD to consider that the responsibility for the World Transfer Programme shall be given to the Awards and Scholarship Committee.

IUVSTA-Elsevier Student Award:

According to the new *Memorandum of Understanding* signed Sep. 11, 2013, in 2014 two conferences shall be supported: ICTF-16 (Dubrovnik, Croatia) and EVC-13 (Aveiro, Portugal).

Following information from the organisers as well as according to the conference websites everything is running well.

Other business:

In the further discussion it became clear that it would be desirable to support within the IUVSTA-Elsevier Student Award programme more than five conferences in the triennium as it is the case in 2013-16. If possible, Elsevier should be prevailed to increase the amount of money in future. Another possibility to support conferences with respect to the participation of young scientist is to organise IUVSTA Short Courses, Schools or similar in conjunction with those conferences.

There was no other business in addition to this. The chair expressed his thankfulness to the participants and closed the meeting at 9.30 pm.

Frank Richter Chairman ASC

Attendance List

Name	email	signature
	ASC members	Marie Commission Commi
Frank Richter	f.richter@physik.tu-chemnitz.de	+ tidu
Martin Wüest	Martin.Wuest@inficon.com	2000 - 20
Mariano Anderle	mariano.anderle@provincia.tn.it	,
Christoph Eisenmenger-Sittner	christoph.eisenmenger@ifp.tuwien.ac.at	G- C4- 1/h
Jean-Jacques Pireaux	jean-jacques.pireaux@fundp.ac.be	Sheary
Francois Reniers	freniers@ulb.ac.be	for N
Pedro A. P. Nascente	nascente@ufscar.br	
Nikola Radic	radic@irb.hr	ware h.
Slobodan Milosevic	slobodan@ifs.hr	Subsel lulisent
Daniel Verniere	daniel.verniere@orange.fr	. 6
Maria Carmen Asensio	asensio@synchrotron-soleil.fr	Holems
András Berkó	aberko@chem.u-szeged.hu	
Kenjiro Oura	oura@nmc.eei.eng.osaka-u.ac.jp	
Sandra Rodil	ser42@iim.unam.mx	
Marian Vojs	marian.vojs@stuba.sk	,
Andrej Vincze	vincze@ilc.sk	Mare
Janez Kovac	janez.kovac@ijs.si	1 1 1
Monika Jenko	monika.jenko@imt.si	Mounts Jento
Miran Mozetic	miran.mozetic@guest.arnes.si	Chi tep 5
J. A. Martí-Gago	gago@icmm.csic.es	1.
Lars Montelius	lars.montelius@ftf.lth.se	1
David Ruzic	druzic@illinois.edu	X.
	observers	
Jack Szuber	Jacek. Szubace polst pl	pul ?
Toward sham Bhain	javaidbhalli o yehor. com	Toward her anoth.
AG Barther	more general salles Dumpsud-f	The Sank
Amaak Galtauries.	anouk gallagracy ordinic powied	h Gallay
TRAVIESCO FRACASSI	FRANCES CO. FRACASSIRO UM	1. II fer
Bonnie Ther	bonnietglere npl.co. uk	647
Christian Teich	teicheit @uniteden . ac. 96	Teil
Gas-Yu Hsiung	haing @ harro, org. tw	Gas - 44 9ting
MAUPRED LET YEH	m. leisch Otugret at	1. 0,
JANEZ KOVAČ	JANEZ. KOVAC@118. 51	Corez Verso
MIRAN MOTETIC		
Ute Bergner	ute. berener a vacom. de	le Ben
&1200molaccons	9,200 cecone @ gual. com	190
DAVID SYKES	d.e. sylus 2 (saltd-co.uh.	DK
UII VIII VIII	To light to the total	