IUVSTA Emerging Societies Report

Dubrovnik, Croatia, Hotel Adria, Saturday, October 11, 2014, 11:30 am

The IUVSTA Emerging Societies Committee meeting was opened at 11:30 am by the Chairman, Joe Greene, who welcomed all attendees. A list of committee members and observers is provided at the end of this report.

Joe presented a brief summary of activities over the previous triennium, as well as the past six months, during which progress was made in developing contacts with scientific representatives of countries that are not presently members of IUVSTA. This is not only important for enhancing the visibility and vitality of the Union, but led to the addition of a new member society last year, the Asociacion Física of Argentina, thus bringing the number of member countries to 32.

The initial topic of discussion was concerned with how we, as a Union, present ourselves to the outside world. Several committee members expressed concern that, like many national vacuum societies, we are constrained by the term vacuum in our name. While vacuum-based research and technology is still very important to the Union, many of our members do not use vacuum at all and are more interested in, for example, solution-based synthesis and processing. Perhaps more importantly, there is a worry that our name may be inhibiting groups from joining our union. There was a question as to whether IUVSTA members have to be Vacuum Societies. The answer is no. In countries for which there are no Vacuum Societies, established groups representing scientific areas of interest to the Union may become members. An example is the Physical Society of Argentina.

Last triennium, a suggestion was made by Ron Reid that we consider adding a tag line to IUVSTA which better expresses the breadth of our union in dealing with the science and technology of materials, interfaces, nano/bio, etc. The issue is being pursued by the IUVSTA Long-Range Planning Committee which is also considering modifications of our name.

Discussion then focused on approaches for enhancing the visibility of IUVSTA in worldwide scientific and technological communities and increasing the membership in our union. It was clearly recognized that this is not a task for a single individual, but requires active participation of a broad cross-section of IUVSTA members (officers, committee chairs, councilors of member countries, and other active participants). That is, it is up to all of us to discuss the benefits of IUVSTA membership with our colleagues.

In fact, IUVSTA offers a wide range of professional services appropriate for interested persons across all educational levels: graduate students, post-doctoral students, scientists, technologists, managers, etc. The list proposed by Greene in Paris, was further developed to include:

Triennial IUVSTA congresses

Co-sponsor conferences (e.g., ICTF, ECOSS, EVC, VASSCA)

Short courses

Workshops (designed for experts in the field)

Schools (designed primarily for students or those moving into a new field)

Technical Training Courses (designed primarily for technicians and engineers)

Visual aids

Technical material available on the IUVSTA website

News Bulletins

Welsh Scholarship Awards

IUVSTA is a member of ICSU and UNESCO

IUVSTA is involved with the development of relevant ISO standards

IUVSTA provides a forum for interactions with international colleagues.

It was noted that one mechanism for familiarizing colleagues with IUVSTA is the use of a few powerpoint slides, describing the benefits and functions of IUVSTA, shown as introductory information at meetings and workshops or at the beginning of lectures and invited talks at conferences

and other venues. Ron Reid has prepared information which can be used to construct appropriate slides. It is available on the IUVSTA website under: Member services/Meantime/Wiki/A simple guide to IUVSTA. Several ESC members and observers have reported using such slides and successfully generating new interactions.

In addition, the committee generally agreed that a very effective way to increase IUVSTA visibility is for each of us to volunteer to discuss IUVSTA activities and potential membership with colleagues we work closely with in non-member countries. The initial list generated in Namur was updated (see below) based on the resulting discussion. Everyone is invited to participate; please send me information regarding countries, contacts, addresses, and e-mail. Note that it is not necessary to be a committee member to participate.

The volunteer list includes: Algeria: Daniel Verriere Baltic Countries: Laszlo Kover and Lars Montelius Bangladesh: Javaid Bhatti Bosnia: Monika Jenko Bulgaria: Ivan Petrov, Miran Mozetic Chile: M.G. Barthes-Labrousse Costa Rica: Jean-Jacques Pireaux Denmark: Lars Montelius Greece: Ron Reid. Miran Mozetic Ireland: Laszlo Kover Malaysia: Jean-Jacques Pireaux Nepal: Mark Kushner Norway: Lars Montelius, Laszlo Kover, Joe Greene Philippines: David Ruzic Romania: Nikola Radic, Joe Greene Saudia Arabia: Bill Rogers, Ron Reid Singapore: Joe Greene Serbia: Miran Mozetic South Africa: Jean-Jacques Pireaux Turkey: Laszlo Kover, Martin Wuest, Anouk Galtayries, Sefik Suzer Vietnam: David Ruzic

Countries which have recently expressed strong interest in joining IUVSTA are Bulgaria, a founding member of IUVSTA, and Turkey. The primary volunteers working with representatives from these countries are Ivan Petrov for Bulgaria and Anouk Galtayries for Turkey. Petrov and Galtayries summarized the present situation in the two countries.

Finally, there was brief discussion regarding a suggestion promoted by David Sykes that we consider developing a program for sending IUVSTA-sponsored speakers/experts to selected emerging countries upon request. This would be another avenue for positive interaction while providing a useful service.

The Emerging Societies committee adjourned at approximately noon.

Respectfully submitted,

ve Jeene

D.B. Willett Professor of Materials Science and Physics, University of Illinois, USA Tage Erlander Professor of Physics, Linköping University, Sweden Univ. Chair of Materials Science, National Taiwan University of Science & Technology

ECM-119-20-D-01

Committee members in attendance:

Mariano Anderle Maria Ascensio Cristoph Eisenmenger-Sittner Katsuyuki Fukatani Anouk Galtayries Joe Greene Lars Montelius Miran Mozetic Jean-Jacques Pireaux Nikola Radic Francois Reniers David Ruzic Geun-Young Yeom.

Observers in attendance:

Ivana Capan Diederik Depla Ulf Helmersson Ulf Karlsson Janez Kovac Lazlo Kover Manfred Leisch Paolo Mannin Leszek Marhowski Slobodan Milosevic Alireza Moshfegh Ivan Petrov Frank Richter **Reinhard Schwar** Mike Seidel David Sykes Alberto Tagliaferro Bonnie Tyler Peter Varga **Daniel Verniere**