MINUTES

ASC Meeting ECM-121

Morgan Hill, CA, USA, October 24, 2015

Attendance

Martin Wüest, Vice Chair of the Award and Scholarship Committee, opened the meeting at 09:00. The attendance sheet was circulated.

12 out of the 22 ASC members were attending, together with 12 observers (see Appendix A).

Agenda and Minutes

The agenda as sent out by email was approved. The minutes of the ASC meeting at ECM-120 in Graz were approved.

Welch Scholarship

The Welch/Bro estate is divided and is still debating if they would donate money (300 kUSD endowment) to IUVSTA to continue the Welch Scholarship. The estate is now out of probate court. IUVSTA will continue waiting for the decision of the heirs. The Welch Scholarship remains suspended in the meantime. David Ruzic to send another letter to the Bro heirs highlighting the good works of the Welch Scholarship and appeal to them to continue the legacy.

There is still USD3800.- Welch Scholarship money in the AVS account. We should transfer this to IUVSTA.

Info not discussed at the meeting: Websites need to be updated (new status, new contact persons). Ask Yvonne Towse/Peter Burke how the AVS Welch Award is financed.

World Transfer Programme (WTP)

Due to extended discussion on other topics, the World Transfer Programm was not further discussed.

For information purposes:

At ECM-118 (Trento) ASC was assigned responsibility for the WTP.

At ECM-119 (Dubrovnik) it was decided that WTP in its current form shall not be continued.

Funds could be used in connection with the Welch Award. Presently EUR10000 are in the IUVSTA budget for this award.

IUVSTA-Elsevier Award

Elsevier made changes in their publishing team. Jan Willen Wijnen will now lead the biochemistry journals. Carina Arasa Cid will take over the surface science/vacuum journals as publisher. The IUVSTA Elsevier Student Award will be handled now by Carina. She plans to attend the next ECM in Braga (15.-17.4.2014).

The original purpose of the award was to allow students from developing countries to travel to international conferences. But this has not worked very well (see e.g. example ECOSS-31 Barcelona). We should discuss a different set-up of the award or a different purpose of the award.

We need to negotiate a new Memorandum of Understanding (MoU) for the awards in the next triennium and hopefully can sign that at Braga or in Busan the latest.

The 2015 award to attend ECOSS-31 was EUR 2000.-. The award application was announced at the ECOSS website. There were 18 applications. Two were from developing countries (Moldova, Brazil), but the presentation topics were not suitable for ECOSS. It was then decided, on the suggestion of Jan Willem from Elsevier and supported by the Chair of ASC, to give the award to the 8 oral presenters in equal amounts of EUR 250.

According to the MoU we should:

The IUVSTA-Elsevier Student Awards will be announced on the conference website. **Details of the selected** students will also be **announced on the website**. The IUVSTA-Elsevier Student Awards will be **acknowledged** during the opening ceremony of the selected conference and **in the program book**.

But the winners are not published on the ECOSS-31 website and in the ECOSS-31 program book as we should have according to the MoU rules.

Action Item: ASC Chair/Chair-Elect to contact Jordi Fraxedas, Chairman ECOSS-31 Barcelona.

For 2016 IVC-20/VAASCAA an amount of EUR 4500.- is set aside.

IUVSTA Prizes

Call for Nominations was sent out by the IUVSTA Secretary by email on 15 Oct 2015 to the presidents of the national vacuum societies, councilors and alternate councilors and is available on the IUVSTA web site. Deadline for applications is 26 January 2016. Decision will be done at ECM in Braga. All attendees are encouraged to spread the word.

The IUVSTA prizes should be announce more prominently on the IUVSTA web page (e.g. in the right hand column of the main page).

Due to the low interest rates, the monies originally given by the sponsors a long time ago now longer earn enough interest to cover the IUVSTA prices. We should find new sponsors and update the donors list.

Action item

Before we start fundraising for existing and new awards (e.g. Ph.D Prize) we should be clear what we want.

Form a new working group to discuss and possibly restructure the IUVSTA awards and prizes and how to obtain the funds to support then. Members will be Lars Montelius (President Elect and Chair Long Range Planning Committee), Frank Richter (Chair Award and Scholarship Committee), Martin Wüest (Vice Chair Award and Scholarship Committee), Christoph Eisenreich-Sittner (Secretary IUVSTA). EVC-122 Braga should be able to decide on the recommendations of the working group.

Need to prepare ASC budget for the Braga meeting.

There was no other business. The meeting was adjourned on 09:50.

M. Wheel

Martin Wüest Vice Chairman ASC

Appendix A

List of Attendees of the ASC Committee Meeting in Morgan Hill

Ozf 24. 2014 Altendance List Awards & Scholarship Coun ECA-121 Morgan Hills Name Country Stetus e-moil Switzer (and vice clair Martin Wees Lars Montelius pres elect SWE/PT C. RISEN MEWIER-STEWER SEC. GEVERAL HENDER AUSTRIA Stanislav Novak Crech Rep obgerver UCF Helmersson observer Sweden Maria Aseusio asensis @ synchrotron-soleil f Fronce DAVID SYKES GB OBSERVER Amark Galtaynes France observer GIACONO CECCONE 7-78-2 DESERVER MIRAN MOZETIC OBSERVER NERIBER SLOVENA REINHARD SCHWARZ desearer Portugal Korea observer Acun Young Keom PAOLO MANINI ITALY OBSERVER Gao-Yu Hsiung Taiwan Observer Katsuyuki Fukutani observer : Tayon abserven diserver vadice jub, hu Ute Bergner. Germany overtia Nikola Rache Pedro Nascente Brazil Member Belguiri Theadures Francos Repuis Anof VINCZE fai. Scorety Horalia USA doserve. Jay HENDRICKS J.J. Pineaux B P. President President M. Anderle I L. Ruzic Scientific Divertar: USA