MINUTES

ASC Meeting ECM-122

Braga, Portugal, April 16, 2016

The ASC meeting was opened at 9.15 a.m. by Frank Richter. The attendance was circulated.

14 out of the 22 ASC members were attending, together with 14 observers (see list below).

The minutes of ASC meeting in Morgan Hills during ECM-121 have been approved.

IUVSTA Prizes 2016

Frank Richter reported that three complete nominations had been received:

Prof. Evgueni A. Deulin, Russia,	for Science,
Prof. Jean-Marie Dubois, France,	for Technology,
Prof. Taeghwan Hyeon, Republic of Korea,	for Technology.

Considering the low number of candidates as well as the fact that all nominees have merits in both science and technology it was decided to form only one jury out of the members of the Awards and Scholarship Committee. Jury member were: Martin Wuest, Jean-Jacques Pireaux, Andrej Vincze, Nikola Radic, Christoph Eisenmenger, Mariano Anderle, Sandra Rodil, Jose Angel Martin-Gago, Monika Jenko, Pedro Nascente, Frank Richter.

The jury concluded that all three candidates are excellent scientists and eligible for a IUVSTA Prize. In a two step procedure the jury decided (both times with a distinct majority):

- a) to select profs. Dubois and Hyeon as recipients of a IUVSTA Prizes 2016,
- b) to award the IUVSTA Prize for Science for 2016 to Prof. Jean-Marie Dubois and

to award the IUVSTA Prize for Technology for 2016 to Prof. Taeghwan Hyeon.

IUVSTA Prize rules

The chairman pointed out that for awarding the IUVSTA prizes three main tasks have to be carried out:

a) Solicit nominations, looking through the submissions, taking care for their completeness,

b) Formation of the juries and organisation of their work,

c) Fabrication of medallions and diplomas, taking care of the prize winners talks during IVC.

In the IUVSTA procedures manual, all three tasks are assigned to the Awards and Scholarship Committee (see 2012 manual, p. 37). In contrast, at pp. 99 and 101, task b) is assigned to the IUVSTA president and the IUVSTA Scientific and Technical Director.

Concluding from his experience, Frank Richter suggested that ASC should be responsible for the whole process, from the beginning to the end.

After discussion the audience supported this suggestion. The rules shall be modified accordingly.

IUVSTA-Elsevier Student Award

The support of five conferences during the 2013-2016 triennium was realised as planned.

The Memorandum of Understanding (MoU) for the triennium 2016-2019 is currently being prepared. On the side of Elsevier the new responsible person is Mrs. Carina Arasa Cid which fortunately attended the meeting.

She presented some key points for the new MoU:

- total support increased to 12 k€ per triennium,
- 6 instead of 5 conferences supported in a triennium,
- rules shall be modified according to the fact that usually only few young scientists from the least developed countries apply for the award.

The new MoU will be prepared up to ECM-123 and signed after the General Meeting by Carina Arasa Cid and the new IUVSTA president.

Report of the working group set up at ECM-121:

The working group had been established to study the question: How to restructure the IUVSTA awards and prizes and how to obtain the funds to support them?

Results obtained so far have been compiled in a special presentation Overview_ Awards.pdf which was shown by Martin Wüest and is now available at the Website, cf. <u>http://www.iuvsta-us.org/iuvsta2/assets/docs/meantime/ECM_122/Overview_Awards.pdf</u>

During discussion several suggestion and demands have been expressed including:

- Look for possibilities to increase number of nominations.
- Give the prizes appropriate (prominent) names and explain the background of the name at the website, in the call for nominations, etc.
- In particular, possibilities should be checked to solicit donations in order to fund named prizes.
- Make clear that the prizes are not only addressed to people at universities but also to those working in national laboratories, industry, etc..

More suggestions for the work of the group are welcome. Please send to Martin Wüest.

Other business:

There was no other business. The chair expressed his thankfulness to the participants and closed the meeting at 10.00 pm.

Frank Richter Chairman ASC

Attendance List

Name	email	signature
	ASC members	and the second second
rank Richter	f.richter@physik.tu-chemnitz.de	7. 190ml
Martin Wüest	Martin.Wuest@inficon.com	in blues
Mariano Anderle	mariano.anderle@provincia.tn.it	Aller and
Christoph Eisenmenger-Sittner	christoph.eisenmenger@ifp.tuwien.ac.at	- Ling- M
lean-Jacques Pireaux	jean-jacques.pireaux@fundp.ac.be	Cleressing /
Francois Reniers	freniers@ulb.ac.be	H H
Pedro A. P. Nascente	nascente@ufscar.br	1/2014/10-1
Nikola Radic	radic@irb.hr	
Slobodan Milosevic	slobodan@ifs.hr	City Calipping
Daniel Verniere	daniel.verniere@orange.fr	An,
Maria Carmen Asensio	asensio@synchrotron-solell.tr	Jours
András Berkó	aberko@chem.u-szeged.hu	P
Kenjiro Oura	oura@nmc.eei.eng.osaka-u.ac.jp	
Sandra Rodil	ser42@iim.unam.mx	
Marian Vojs	marian.vojs@stuba.sk	1
Andrej Vincze	vincze@ilc.sk	Ime
Janez Kovac	janez.kovac@ijs.si	
Monika Jenko	monika jenko@imt.si	1
Miran Mozetic	miran.mozetic@guest.arnes.si	light
J. A. Marti-Gago	gago@icmm.csic.es	A
Lars Montelius	lars.montelius@ftf.lth.se	
David Ruzic	druzic@illinois.edu	DR
	observers	
Canina Arasa Cid	C. arasacida dsevier. On	
GIZCOMO GECCONE	gidtomo leccome @ ec. europad	a le
ALEX SUARP	alex. sherdpapt. co. uk	Sun
JANID SYKES	and strong of the strong	DR
	ute bergner Quacom de	Ber
Uf Kadissin	HEP. DEISHER APPENDING	uer_
States - States - States	gyverm DSKKU. edu	attes
Genn Young Kerm Kitsuyicki Fackitan	The train of the second	K-Tukaw
Time Gans	fakitan a is intopo.cc. jp timo gans O york ac uk	Cas
Junislav Novak	Time game pourant	Allo
Anouk Galtaunia		Galla
JAY HENDRICKS	Jayhanist. 30V	authil
PILO MITNINI		a Man
LAZS MONTELIUS	paces maniniasses-group.ca	11 mm
LARS MUNICIPA	INT MONTERINTIAL ALENTINE	