Awards and Scholarship Committee

Minutes ECM-127

The Awards and Scholarship Committee of IUVSTA met on Saturday, February 10, 2018 between 9:00 and 9:45 at the JPark Island Resort, Cebu Island, The Philippines

Agenda

- 1. Opening
- 2. Attendance
- 3. Adoption of Agenda
- 4. Minutes of ASC meeting during ECM-126 in Sofia, Bulgaria
- 5. Welch Scholarship
- 6. IUVSTA-Elsevier Students Award
- 7. IUVSTA Prize
- 8. Working Group on Awards Restructuring
- 9. Any Other Business
- 10. Closing Remarks
- 11. Adjourn

Attendance

The attendance sheet is listed in Appendix A.

Agenda and Minutes

The agenda and the minutes were available on the IUVSTA website.

The agenda was approved.

The minutes of the ASC meeting of ECM-126 in Sofia, Bulgaria as they are on the website were approved.

Presentation content

The presented slides are in Appendix B

Discussions

There were very fruitful and constructive discussions and the proposals given in the slides were approved with some notable comments beyond the content of the presentation slides:

- Welch Scholarship
 - The available funds should be used as flexible as possible to attract a broad variety of high quality applicants

 Guidelines should be specified for the event of selection committee members being involved in an application, e.g. as host institution

- All IUVSTA awards

- o Attracting healthy numbers of high quality applicants is crucial
- The new website can play an important role in improved advertising of the awards (pre and post award)

ASC Meeting Saturday February 10, 2018 Cebu, Philippines

List of participants

Name Status

T. Gans
L. Montelius
President
A. Galtayries
President-Elect
D. Ruzic
Scientific Director
F. Reniers
Treasurer

C. Eisenmenger-Sittner Secretary General
A. Vincze Scientific Secretary
D. O'Connell Recording Secretary

(Australia) A. Stampfz U. Bergner (Germany) J. Hendricks (USA) K. Fukutami (Japan) M. Mozetic (Slovenia) F. Komori (Japan) (Sweden) U. Karlsson M. Vasquez (Philippines) (Czech rep.) S. Novak L. Markowski (Poland) P. Omling (Sweden) (Korea) Y. Kim C.L. Mahinay (Philippines)