Applied Surface Science

This division focuses on the application of the concepts and tools of surface science to problems in solid state physics and chemistry and materials science and technology. Current emphasis is on characterization of surfaces and interfaces and the quantification of surface analysis techniques. The division also represents IUVSTA on ISO Committee TC201 on Surface Chemical Analysis.

Topics Organization Statutes

Typical Applied Surface Science topics include:

  • Analysis of material surfaces, thin films, interphases, and interfaces
  • Metals, semiconductors, insulators, polymers, and organics
  • Coatings, adhesion, catalysis, corrosion, and wear
  • Grain boundaries, and diffusion
  • Sensors, and electronic devices
  • Biomaterials, and self-assembled monolayers
  • Surface reactions, and contamination
  • Sputtering, and depth profiling
  • Developments in instrumentation and data processing
  • Quantitative surface, depth, and interface analysis
  • Development of reference materials and standards
Applied Surface Science Division 2022-2025 Triennium Applied Surface Science Division 2019-2022 Triennium
Chair USA John T. Grant Chair Poland Leszek Markowski
Vice Chair Poland Mikołaj Lewandowski Vice Chair USA John T. Grant
Secretary Slovenia Alenka Vesel Secretary vacant
Representatives Argentina Alfredo Juan Representatives Argentina Octavio Furlong
Australia Jennifer McLeod Australia Jennifer McLeod
Austria Wolgang Werner Austria Wolfgang Werner
Belgium Damien Thiry Belgium Rony Snyders
Brazil Luis C. Fontana Brazil Mauricio A. Algatti
Bulgaria Katja Vutova Bulgaria Katja Vutova
Croatia Marko Karlušić Croatia Mladen Petravić
Cuba Osvaldo de Melo
Czech Republic Jiří Čapek Czech Republic Jiří Čapek
Finland Mady Elbahri Finland Jari Koskinen
France Olivier Renault France Olivier Renault
Germany Michael Wahl Germany Michael Kopnarski
Great Britain David Scurr Great Britain David Scurr
Hungary József Tóth Hungary József Tóth
India vacant India vacant
Iran vacant Iran vacant
Israel Amos Bardea Israel Iris Visoly-Fisher
Italy Francesco Ghezzi Italy Francesco GHezzi
Japan Jiro Matsuo Japan Jiro Matsuo
Korea Jinju Park Korea Cheolho Jeon
Mexico vacant Mexico Pierre Giovanni Mani-Gonzalez
Netherlands vacant Netherlands vacant
Pakistan Zafar Iqbal Pakistan Zafar Iqbal
Phillipines Magdaleno Vasquez Jr Phillipines Jenica Rozette Y. Uy
P.R. China Yuanbo Zhang P.R. China Zhen-Chao Dong
Portugal Carlos Jose Macedo Tavares Portugal Carlos Jose Macedo Tavares
Russian Federation In suspension Russian Federation In suspension
Serbia Maja Popović Serbia Vesna Maksimović
Slovakia Dušan Pudiš Slovakia Dušan Pudiš
Slovenia Secretary Slovenia Alenka Vesel
Spain Celia Rogero Spain A. Gutierrez
Sweden Johan Gustafson Sweden Johan Gustavson
Switzerland Christian Wackerli Switzerland Johannes Schwenk