Plasma Science and Technologies

Plasma Science and Technologies Division is concerned with basic phenomena in gaseous plasma, scientific aspects of plasma-wall interaction, and technologies based on gas-phase and surface
phenomena. The basic phenomena include the kinetics of charged particles (electrons and positively as well as negatively charged ions) and excited neutral species (metastable molecules and radicals in both ground and metastable states), the interaction between the plasma species, radiation arising from excited plasma species, collision phenomena in ionized gases, gas-phase oligomerization, agglomeration, and formation of dusty plasma, and propagation of the electric field in the gaseous plasma. The interaction of gaseous plasma with solid and liquid materials includes the surface neutralization of charged particles, the heterogeneous surface association of atoms and radicals to molecules, condensation of plasma radicals, physical and chemical interaction of plasma species with solid materials, and the effects of plasma radiation on the structure of the surface films.

Scientific topics:
  • Electron and ion kinetics in electrical and magnetic fields/li>
  • Collision phenomena in ionized gases
  • Excitation, dissociation, and ioniztion of gaseous molecules with plasma electrons
  • Relaxation, recombination, and neutralization in the gas phase
  • Plasma-surface interactions
  • Plasma characterization
  • Magnetohydrodynamics


Technological topics:
  • Discharge chambers
  • Gaseous discharges and their modes
  • Coupling between electromagnetic fields and gaseous plasma
  • Kinetics of surface film modification by energetic charged particles and plasma radiation
  • Gas conversion upon plasma conditions
  • Sputtering
  • Chemical etching
  • Reactive ion etching
  • Selective plasma etching
  • Discharge cleaning
  • Plasma low-temperature ashing
  • Interaction of gaseous plasma with organic materials
  • Plasma medicine and agriculture
  • Plasma-stimulated deposition of thin films
  • Plasma in fusion devices


Division representatives 2022-2025 Triennium


Slovenia Miran Mozetič Chair
Great Britain Deborah O’Connell Vice Chair
Japan Satoshi Hamaguchi Secretary



Scientific meetings, conferences, workshops

24th Symposium on Applications of Plasma Processes (SAPP XXIV) & the 13th EU-Japan Joint
Symposium on Plasma Processing, Štrbské Pleso, Slovakia, 27 Jan-1 Feb, 2023

IVS-IPSTA 2023 – 40th Annual Conference and Workshop, Tel Aviv, Israel, 2nd March and 2nd April 2023,

15th International Symposium on Advanced Plasma Science and its Applications for Nitrides and Nanomaterials, 16 th International Conference on Plasma-Nano Technology & Science (ISPlasma2023/IC-PLANTS2023), Gifu, Japan, 5 – 9 March, 2023.

4th International Conference on Data-Driven Plasma Science (ICDDPS-4) Okinawa, Japan, 16th – 21st April 2023

14 th EU-Japan Joint Symposium on Plasma Processing, Okinawa, Japan, 16th – 21st April 2023

EU COST Action “CA19110 Plasma applications for smart and sustainable agriculture” May 14th –16th, and 8th International Conference on Advanced Plasma Technologies (ICAPT-8) 16th – 18th May 2023, both events in Gozd Martuljek, Slovenia,

25th International Symposium on Plasma Chemistry (ISPC25), Kyoto, Japan, 21-26 May, 2023,

AVS 23rd International Conference on Atomic Layer Deposition & the 10th International Atomic Layer Etching Workshop (ALD/ALE 2023), 23-26 July, Bellevue, Washington, USA

20th International Symposium on Laser-Aided Plasma Diagnostics, Kyoto, Japan, 10 – 14 Sep. 2023

PLATHINIUM (Plasma Thin film International Union Meeting) 2023, Antibes, France, 11-15 Sept 2023.

76th Annual Gaseous Electronics Conference, 9-13 Oct. 2023, Ann Arbor, MI, USA

97th IUVSTA Workshop on Plasma-assisted conversion of gases for a sustainable future, Cerklje na Gorenjskem, Slovenia, 17th – 21st December 2023

Members announcements

Ana Borras from the Spanish Vacuum Society was granted an ERC project, “Three-dimensional
nanoscale design for the all-in-one solution to environmental multisource energy scavenging” (2020–2025) 3Dscavengers project website | 3Dscavengers project website (